## Mike Collins and Rafi in B52 "Periwinkle" win 21<sup>st</sup> Anniversary Cup for the overall winner and the Perci Memorial Tankard for the first race in the Annual Championships for the Norfolk Dinghy Class

On the weekend of 26<sup>th</sup>/27<sup>th</sup> August 2023 Waveney & Oulton Broad Yacht Club hosted the Annual Championships for the Norfolk 14ft One Design Dinghy Class. There were 9 declared entries for the event.

Competitors were welcomed to the Club by Race Officer Kyle Beamish on the Saturday morning and assisted by Commodore Maureen Horne a practice race was organised to enable crews to familiarise themselves with the course and conditions. The weather at this time was fine with a light south westerly wind.

After a short break for lunch the first race of the series began at 2.00pm. With more south in the wind the starboard number 1 mark was placed just beyond the anchored boats which made for an interesting beat before running across the broad to number 5 port mark followed by another beat to 2 and a broad reach to 6. Mike Collins sailing B52 "Periwinkle" and crewed by Rafi Collins lead from the start and won the 3 lap course by a substantial margin. In second place came David Yapp in B52 "Dodman" crewed by Jackie Soards and very close behind in third was Rory Kelsey sailing B21 "Tankard" and crewed by Jon Blankley.

The second race followed immediately after the first and, with increasing cloud, crews who had waterproof gear on board duly togged up. This proved a sensible move as a significant thunder storm with lightning and loud claps of thunder resulted in continuous heavy rain throughout most of the race amid cries of "we shouldn't be out here!". This resulted in 2 retirements and 3 crews sailing the wrong course! In this race the winner was again Mike Collins followed by Rory Kelsey in second and by Richard Kinder sailing B43 "Otter" and crewed by Will Kinder in third.

Sunday morning provided excellent sailing conditions with a fantastic beat up the entire length of the broad to mark 3 followed by a broad reach to 2 and a run to 7. Three full rounds were completed by all nine crews and first was Collins, second Kinder and third Kelsey.

The fourth race started at 11.36am and having won all previous races Mike Collins packed up ready for the return to Wroxham but left his son Rafi to collect the silverware. In this race Kelsey won with Kinder second. Third place went to Danny Tyrrell sailing B53 "Twinkle" and crewed by his grandson Ethan Lewis.

At the prizegiving Class Captain David Yapp presented the 21<sup>st</sup> Anniversary Cup and Perci Tankard to Rafi Collins, The Jimmy Turner Trophy for the runner up to Rory Kelsey together with the Patria of Waipu Trophy for the over 70's. The Novices Trophy for the highest placed helm not having won a Norfolk trophy before went to Jock Grieve sailing B69 "Cygnet" and crewed by Katie Truman-Grieve.